teach me some on race tyres

blam

Administrator
hey guys,

I'm completely new to racing. did track days etc last year on Dunlop Q3s which worked amazingly for my pace and had really good longevity. plus the take offs can go on my street bike as the center strip has loads of life left.

anyways they're coming up on the end of their life so I'm looking to get new tyres for Round 1

I'm seeing Scott's race DOTs are 190/55 for med+ and 190/60 for the med and soft.

how soft is a med+ compared to a street tyre?

am i going to have to have my suspension set up differently to accomodate for a taller rear?

i heard a few guys last year mention "red stripe" tyres would work well for me. what is the red stripe type?

any tips/reccomendations would be great. thanks

yak

Brian

Since you were happy with the Q3s then that may be a good place to start. When they start to become the limiting factor in your lap times is when I would suggest moving to a pure race tire.

I always measure new tires so I know what is happening to my ride height. Initially many bikes respond well to the increased rear height that often comes with the bigger rear tires. Just be aware how much you are changing things and note whether that improves the bikes handling (easier turn in, etc) or not.

I have heard good things about the Pirelli red stripes which are basically a track day slick; i.e. longer life lower traction than a pure race tire. I don't know how they would compare to the Q3s.

Regards

blam

Administrator
hey todd,

thanks for the info. the Q3s are definitely not limiting me any time soon. I could probably drop another 5-10 seconds and still be good on them.... there are much faster guys running them at track days than me.

Dionis B